Photogenic Food

Quick and Easy Recipes

Lemon Glazed Cookies

Lemon Cookies

I have to confess that I’ve never in my life made cookies. Yes, I love cooking and although I rarely bake, I’m a pretty good baker, but for some reason I’ve been intimidated by cookies. No joke! This week, my company is having a cookie (of course) bake off contest and I decided to face my fear and try this cookie thing out. After all, I really want that Target gift card!

I wanted to make something easy and different, so this recipe by Giada De Laurentiis has caught my eye. I loved that I didn’t have to refrigerate the dough for hours or even roll it out! I’m also a huge fan of lemon desserts (like this yummy lemon apple cake) so this recipe seemed right up my alley. These cookies turned out delicious! Now, all I have to hope for is to win the contest! Ah well, even if I don’t win it, I’ll have leftovers to enjoy and a great go-to cookie recipe.

I did make some adjustments to Giada’s original recipe  - I had to bake my cookies longer and added more lemon juice to the glaze because 3 tablespoons weren’t enough for 1 1/2 cup of powdered sugar to absorb. Also, these cookies definitely look and taste better when smaller, so I suggest scooping no more that 3/4 , even 1/2 tablespoons of the cookie dough for each individual cookie.

Ingredients (for about 40 small cookies)

Cookies
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 15 oz. container whole milk ricotta cheese
3 tablespoons lemon juice
Zest of 1 lemon

Glaze
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
Juice of 1 lemon
Zest of 1 lemon

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. In a medium bowl combine the flour, baking powder, salt and set aside.  In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar with a hand mixer until until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating until incorporated. Add ricotta cheese, lemon juice and zest. Beat to combine, stir in the dry ingredients and beat until the dough is smooth. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and spray with non-stick cooking spray. Spoon the dough (about 1/2 tablespoon) onto the baking sheets making sure the cookies are spaced out. Bake for about 20 minutes, until slightly golden. Remove from the oven and let the cookies rest on the baking sheet until cool.

DSC_0076

DSC_0077

DSC_0079

2. Make the glaze. Combine  powdered sugar, lemon juice and  zest in a small bowl and stir with spatula until smooth (add more lemon juice if needed). Spread about 1/2 teaspoon of glaze on each cookie and let them rest until the glaze completely hardens for a couple of hours.

photo of lemon cookies with glaze

2 comments on “Lemon Glazed Cookies

  1. yuliya14
    December 13, 2012

    Lenka is back in the game! :-)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2012 by in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

